We’ve looked at how CBD products are regulated under UK law in the past. But what about religious restrictions? Is CBD halal or haram under Islamic law?
Halal means that something is permitted under Islamic law. Muslims are only able to consume and use halal products and items, including food. If something is prohibited, it’s deemed haram, which means it’s forbidden. So would CBD oil, capsules or other products be considered halal or haram for more than 2.6 million British Muslims?
What is CBD?
Cannabidiol (CBD) is one of 113 naturally occurring cannabinoids which can be found in hemp and cannabis plants. Identified in 1940, it’s non-psychoactive, which means it won’t cause you to become high or intoxicated. And interest in the potential physical and mental health benefits of CBD means it can now be isolated and extracted from the plants.
This is important, as cannabis plants also contain the chemical compound tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). This is what causes a high if you consume cannabis, and is a controlled substance in the UK. Any CBD products sold legally in the UK either have no THC, or a tightly controlled trace amount which is too small to have any intoxicating effects.
More and more people in the UK are trying CBD as part of a general health and wellbeing routine. It’s quick and easy to add drops of CBD oil or capsules to your diet, and there is an increasing amount of medical and scientific research into how CBD interacts with the endocannabinoid system in your body.
Is CBD halal?
Muslims need to ensure that any food or supplements consumed are halal. Most Muslim scholars consider CBD oil as halal, because it’s an organically produced plant extract which doesn’t cause intoxication.
CBD oil legally produced for retail in the UK can only include a very small trace amount of THC, so it should be permissible under Islamic law. But if you’re concerned about this, you can choose a Zero THC Isolate CBD Oil, which doesn’t include any THC.
Our CBD oils use a supercritical fluid CO2 extraction process, and contain only natural ingredients, with no artificial colours, aromas or preservatives. Which means they are both halal and vegan friendly.
Other CBD products can be more complicated. Some CBD capsules can contain gelatine, which is haram, or forbidden. Our CBD capsules are made entirely plant-based, including vegetable cellulose casings, so they’re vegan friendly.
When could CBD products be haram?
While CBD itself is natural and non-intoxicating, the ingredients of some CBD products could mean that they’re forbidden, or haram, under Islamic law.
Vaping CBD is haram, as smoking, tobacco products and electronic cigarettes are all prohibited as harmful. And CBD gummies which use gelatine are also strictly forbidden, as this ingredient usually comes from pork.
But you should make sure to check the ingredients of other CBD products. Some capsules may contain gelatine or other haram substances. And CBD oil can use flavourings which are also forbidden for Muslims.
If you’re in any doubt, it’s safest to stick to an all-natural Zero THC Isolate CBD Oil from a reputable retailer. Any good CBD supplier will provide a full list of ingredients and analytical reports showing the chemical composition.
If you’re still worried whether CBD is halal or haram?
It’s important to do your own research, and to use reputable, trusted CBD retailers. This means you can be sure that the listed ingredients are accurate, and that any CBD isolate contains no amount of THC.
You may also want to discuss the matter with your own religious leaders for guidance. If you’re considering taking CBD as a supplement to your health and wellbeing routine, it’s important that you’re happy and comfortable with your decision.In addition to any religious concerns, it’s also recommended to check with your doctor or other medical professionals before adding a supplement to your diet, particularly if you’re already taking prescription medication for an existing condition.